top of page

Early Years Foundation Stage

Regarding our curriculum, Buttsbury Pre-school follows the Early Years Foundation Stage framework for learning, which is used in all registered early years settings and schools. We plan activities, observe the children at play and assess their development under the seven areas of learning

How We Provide for Development and Learning

Children start to learn about the world around them from the moment they are born. The care and education offered by our pre-school help children to continue to do this by providing all of the children with interesting activities that are appropriate for their age and stage of development. The Areas of Development and Learning comprise:


Prime Areas -

  • Personal, social and emotional development.

  • Physical development.

  • Communication and language.


Specific Areas -

  • Literacy.

  • Mathematics.

  • Understanding the world.

  • Expressive arts and design.


For each area, the level of progress that children are expected to have attained by the end of the Early Years Foundation Stage is defined by the Early Learning Goals. These goals state what it is expected that children will know, and be able to do, by the end of the reception year of their education.

More information can be found in a booklet called ‘What to expect when?’ The purpose of this booklet is to help you as a parent/carer find out more about how your child is learning and developing during their first five years in relation to the EYFS.


A copy of this booklet is available in the magazine rack in our reception or here.

bottom of page